Institute for Developing Across Differences

Join the IDD Global Community

IDD Global Community of Practice (gaping void)
Image credits: Gaping Void

The IDD is a vibrant global community dedicated to supporting all who do the essential work of helping individuals, organizations, and societies develop across differences. In other words, we aim to serve YOU.

Join experienced peers and friends of the IDD along with IDD host Nadine Binder for one or both sessions of the IDD’s regular Global Community of Practice sessions  on the 4th Thursday of every other month.

Read on to learn how it workswhom it’s for and what opportunities we offer you to expand your global peer network.

 

SAVE THE DATES

 

    • March 24, 2022 – Keeping up motivation and practicing the work of bridging divides in times of war and crisis 

    • May 26, 2022 – Dealing with defensiveness, resistance, and/or unmotivated audiences

    • July 28, 2022 – The concept of belonging and ways to foster it in our workplaces, classrooms, and communities 

    • September 22, 2022 – The future of our work of supporting others developing across differences

    • NEXT UP: November 23, 2022* – The intersections between intercultural communication and diversity, equity, and inclusion (bridging ICC & DEI)

*adjusted for Thanksgiving in the US

 

Save the dates for 2023 – Jan 26, Mar 23, May 25, Jul 27, Sep 28, Nov 22*

WHY JOIN?

So that we can collectively and individually improve our impact and expand the field.

Connect with fellow multipliers—most with 10+ years in the field (but all are welcome)—from across the greater Differences realm and around the world . 

We meet to share practices, scholarship, and experiences in an informal, noncommercial setting.

Each call has a broader theme to guide our conversations in small groups and in plenary and we capture our main insights to be shared across calls and with the whole community after each Global Community of Practice gathering.   

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE NEXT CALL

TWO SESSIONS

To accommodate different time zones, we run two sessions on each Practice day. Join us for

  • Session A: 9-10am in Berlin/Johannesburg, 4-5pm in Tokyo, 5-6pm in Melbourne for May/Jul/Sep; 9-10am in Berlin/Johannesburg, 5-6pm in Tokyo, 7-8pm in Melbourne in Nov
  • Session B: 8-9am Seattle/Vancouver, 11am-12pm Toronto/New York, 5-6 pm in Berlin/Johannesburg

 

ABOUT THE IDD GLOBAL COMMUNITY OF PRACTICE

Whom is it for? The Community of Practice consists of colleagues from Australia, Canada, Colombia, Egypt, Germany, India, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, and the US …and we’d love to see you, too!  Most IDD peers have 10+ years of experience — many 20+. 

How does it work?   For each session there is a general theme that we’ll explore. We provide a facilitated platform for you to delve into that topic in small groups. We invite you to share topics or questions of interest with us during or between sessions and co-create the Community of Practice together.

What about networking?   Following the close of each Practice session, we leave the floor open so that you can continue to talk with peers who might have been in a different small group or simply to mingle with folks you already know. While you’re welcome to share what you’ve been working on, this Community of Practice is just that and while we encourage partnerships, please do not use this as a platform to showcase your services.

JOIN THE IDD GLOBAL COMMUNITY OF PRACTICE

Please note: We offer two calls per day to accommodate our global community which is spread across different times zones.